Amy’s Ice Cream

Amy’s Ice Cream- check website for hours and various locations

Amy's Ice Cream

Amy’s Ice Cream

Summertime in Austin=Amy’s Ice Cream

Other than Amy’s Ice Cream, I can’t think of another ice cream joint that has an annual Olympics. Flipping ice cream and smashing M&M’s into a scoop of ice cream is just one of the things that makes Amy’s so unique. It also has unique ice cream flavors and just plain good ice cream.

Lime Cheesecake

Lime Cheesecake Ice Cream

Back when my younger sister was at UT, she lived on 38th 1/2 Street in a small studio apartment.  Two great things about that apartment were that in the winter all the houses went all out for Christmas lights even stringing them over the street.  Cars waited in long lines to drive up 38th 1/2.  The other thing was Amy’s Ice Cream was about a four minute walk from there.  We spent quite a few summer afternoons there, cooling off with a scoop of ice cream, trying out unique flavors like lavender and Khalooa or the well-known Mexican Vanilla. I’ve managed frequent Amy’s twice this summer to try some of the season’s flavors.  The first time I had lime cheesecake ice cream (wonderful) and the second time I ordered the Marie Antoinette with Mexican Vanilla ice cream and cake, both chocolate and vanilla cake, smashed in there (totally decadent and delicious).

Amy's Ice Cream and Dinosaur Park 073

Amy’s Ice Cream

Amy's Ice Creams on Urbanspoon

About benleeirene

My husband and I live in Texas. He managed a kitchen in one of our town's local restaurants for six years, but he has recently returned to school and is loving it. I teach at a nearby school. I am creating this blog for fun and as an attempt to encourage my husband and myself to continue doing things we love: cooking, taking photos, and writing. Well, he loves cooking and I love taking and photos and writing. I would love to hear what you think!
This entry was posted in Austin and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

