Kerbey Lane Cafe

Kerbey Lane- Open 24 hours, see website for multiple locations.

Kerby Lane, Austin June 26, 2013 004

Back in high school, a late night of talking and sipping coffee might have occurred at IHOP accompanied by a stack of strawberry pancakes and a plate of French fries (uh, yeah, greatest combo ever).  When I moved close to Austin, all of that changed.  A late night of talking and coffee (or a late night snack after the bars), usually happened at Kerby Lane Cafe.  At Kerbey Lane, I was introduced to a whole new way of passing time or holding on to a good night because even though I still have soft spot for IHOP, Kerbey Lane’s pancakes are far superior to those of IHOP.  My favorite things to order at Kerbey Lane are the Kerby Queso and an order of pancakes.  The queso is an amazing bowl of melted cheese with onions, guacamole, and tomatoes. As apparent by this blog, I do occasionally stray from breakfast at Kerbey Lane, but their breakfast food is really what they do best.

Kerby Lane's Awesome Queso

Kerby Lane’s Awesome Queso

Kerbey always has original and blueberry pancakes, and they also have a weekly special.  My favorite is the lemon seed poppy pancakes that they serve during the summer.  Below are photos of lemon poppy seed French toast and lemon poppy seed pancakes that my sister and I ordered on a different visit. So. Good.

However, when my sister and I went to Kerbey Lane this summer, we ordered from the summer menu.  Seasonal menus, like the summer menu, are another thing I like about Kerbey Lane.  This summer the menu was focused on tomatoes.  Can’t do better than that.

Kerby Lane's Summer Menu 2013

Kerby Lane’s Summer Menu 2013

I ordered the tomato pie, a blend of tomatoes, green onion, and garlic baked in pie shell and topped with feta cheese and olives.

Tomato Pie

Tomato Pie

I love all the things in the tomato pie, but all of them together was a bit too rich.  It needed something to cut the flavors of thick pie crust, feta, olives, and onion.  If there had been more tomatoes, that would have helped.  Unlike me, my sister is able to resist a menu focused on the glorious tomato, but she is less able to resist anything with salmon.

Salmon Eggs Benedict

Salmon Eggs Benedict

She had the smoked salmon Benedict (they also had a Fried Green Tomatoes Benedict that I almost tried) and loved it.

If you are going to Kerbey Lane, the menu items can be a little bit hit or miss, but they are usually creative and more fun to try than most things at chain restaurants.  And, in my opinion, you can never go wrong at Kerbey if you order the queso and pancakes.

Kerbey Lane Cafe on Urbanspoon

About benleeirene

My husband and I live in Texas. He managed a kitchen in one of our town's local restaurants for six years, but he has recently returned to school and is loving it. I teach at a nearby school. I am creating this blog for fun and as an attempt to encourage my husband and myself to continue doing things we love: cooking, taking photos, and writing. Well, he loves cooking and I love taking and photos and writing. I would love to hear what you think!
This entry was posted in Austin, Kerby Lane Cafe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kerbey Lane Cafe

  1. J. Parker says:

    Ohmylanta, the picture of that Kerbey queso literally has me drooling over my computer! Yum!!
    Kerbey Lane will have a very special spot in my heart until the end of time!

    xx,
    j. parker

  2. Maggie Tate says:

    I love Kerby Lane! I can’t seem to stray from the omelets though – usually the California :) with home fries and black beans. Too good!

Leave a Reply

