San Marcos Food Trucks: Summer Sampling

The Hitch: A Mobile Eatery 312 East Hopkins, San Marcos, TX 78666, most days 11:00am-8:00pm

The Hitch: A Mobil Eatery

The Hitch: A Mobil Eatery

On a concrete slab, not far from the refreshingly cool San Marcos River, a community of food trucks has sprung up in San Marcos, Texas.  On top of the concrete square, lavender picnic tables donned with umbrellas that provide some shade in the summer Texas heat are set up inside the circle of food trucks.  Like other food truck set-ups, it’s nice because one is provided with multiple eatery options in one place.  I usually spend fifteen minutes or so walking around reading the menus before making the crucial decision.  There are a variety of food trucks to choose from at the site: St. Pita’s, The Big Khahuna (Hawaiian), Wat Zab Thai Food, Smoked Out Barbeque, and Redbud Roasters.

Over the summer Ben and I had the opportunity to try a few of these.

1.Mostly these are in random order except this first oneSt. Pita’s is number one for me.  I love it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

St. Pita’s is a Turkish restaurant with gyros and hummus plates.  Last time, I had The Jerusalem Garden with hummus, romaine, tomato, red onion, feta, kalamata olive and basil.  There was a little too much hummus for me, so next time I’m sticking with The Classic, which is similar to The Jerusalem but includes beef and lamb.

2. Wanderlust, serves gorment sandwhiches, Asian inspired noodles, and specialty drinks (non-alcholoic, there is no alcohol served at The Hitch).  Photo below of a pork sandwich Ben had there.  We both tried it and were colored impressed.

San Marcos Food Trucks and Bucees 029

Pork Tenderloin Sandwich with Cheese and Avacado

3. The Big Khahuna gets points for originality. Examples of some menu items: Fish taco special- 2 blackened tilapia served on corn tortillas, Maui Asian slaw topped with papaya salsa , kilawea sauce. The King Khahuna Burger (see photo below) a burger with beef and pork and avocado.  Ben tried the King Khahuna and liked it but also mentioned that it was made with some sort of fish oil, which is okay but adds a bit of a different flavor than what we’re used to eating.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4. Wat Zap Thai Food- The meal I had here was really good, and I’ve heard a couple of people say this is there favorite.  I had pork mixed with vegetables and the sauce it was made in was great.

Pork and Vegtables

Pork and Vegetables

5. Patty Wagon, apparently has great burgers.  Of course, the day I went I decided to go with the low-fat option; it was okay. I tried the Turkey Burger.  The woman before me in line said, “it was the best turkey Burger”  she had ever had.  I don’t have many turkey burgers to compare it too, but it wasn’t bad. They add some originality to their menu by including things like avocado mayonnaise, which I had with my turkey burger.  Next time I go, I’m going to order a real burger.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About benleeirene

My husband and I live in Texas. He managed a kitchen in one of our town's local restaurants for six years, but he has recently returned to school and is loving it. I teach at a nearby school. I am creating this blog for fun and as an attempt to encourage my husband and myself to continue doing things we love: cooking, taking photos, and writing. Well, he loves cooking and I love taking and photos and writing. I would love to hear what you think!
This entry was posted in San Marcos Food Trucks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to San Marcos Food Trucks: Summer Sampling

  1. laurgardner5 says:

    i’m so glad to see i’m not the only one who seriously LOVES the food trucks around. they are so good!

Leave a Reply

