Blanco, Texas

Blanco State Park: Phone Number – 830-833-4333, Address – 101 Park Rd. 23, Blanco, TX 78606 (If using a GPS,  please enter “29 Main Street.”)
Redbud Cafe: Mon.-Thu. 10:30am-3:30pm, Fri. & Sat. 10:30-9pm, Closed Sunday, 410 4th Street, Blanco, TX 78606
Twin Sisters Dance Hall: 9pm-1am first Saturday of every month and check website for concert dates, $8 for 12 and older and $3 for 11 and younger (non-walking babies free), 6720 Hwy. 281, Blanco, TX 78606

Recently my husband and I visited Blanco.  It was a short spur of the moment trip, but I wanted to write a post that I could add to later.  We wanted to get out of the house, so first we went to the Blanco State Park and definitely did not have enough time there; it was so peaceful and nice not to be sitting in front of our computers, which is too easy to do on the weekends.

Blanco State Park

Blanco State Park

Blanco State Park

Blanco State Park

Blanco Park 056

Blanco State Park

That evening we ate at Redbud Cafe and went to Twin Sisters Dance Hall.  This was the second time we have been to Redbud Cafe, and I really like it.  When you walk in, you get in line and order your food and drink while (if it is a Friday or Saturday night) listening to the band and looking over the menu.  John and Jan Brieger, the owners, say on their website that they order local and organic food for their restaurant whenever possible.  The night my husband and I were there Jan sat with us for a bit so that I could use her iphone to find the location of Twin Sisters, which was really nice of her.  I didn’t know she was the owner until I saw her photo on their website when writing this. Redbud cafe is a great place for a really good salad and a glass of wine. I had the house salad with cucumber, tomato, red onions, olive, feta cheese, and the house dressing.  The house dressing amazing. Redbud is my favorite place to go eat in Blanco, so far.  Next was Twin Sisters Dance Hall.

Twin Sisters Dance Hall

Twin Sisters Dance Hall

This place is Texas to me. It was recommended to me by a friend who always knows the best places to go.  We drove out there listened to the band, threw back a few Lonestars, and watched people, many people, do some serious two-steppin’ (I swear I will join in next time).  It was awesome.  To get there, drive about nine miles outside of town, take a left down a dirt road, and you’ll find yourself where you can look up and see the stars of Texas we Texans like to sing about.  To me, Twin Sisters Dance Hall is the kind of place I want to find when I go traversing the hill country.  It’s the locals leading the dancing, and you can tell how much they love it.  In the photo below, you can only see the blur of people as they dance by me, which just demonstrates they’re serious about their dancing in Blanco.   The dance hall is open to the public the first Saturday of every month; the calendar can be found at the Twin Sisters website.

Twin Sisters Dance Hall

Twin Sisters Dance Hall

Old Blanco County Courthouse

Old Blanco County Courthouse

About benleeirene

My husband and I live in Texas. He managed a kitchen in one of our town's local restaurants for six years, but he has recently returned to school and is loving it. I teach at a nearby school. I am creating this blog for fun and as an attempt to encourage my husband and myself to continue doing things we love: cooking, taking photos, and writing. Well, he loves cooking and I love taking and photos and writing. I would love to hear what you think!
This entry was posted in Blanco, Texas, Texas Dance Halls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blanco, Texas

  1. That is a beautiful place. I will definitely add it on my Summer bucket list. Texas is full of treasures. Thanks.

    • benleeirene says:

      We are lucky; Texas is so full of treasures, and I just love how we have such variety, meaning from West Texas to East Texas one finds such different types of places/things to see.

Leave a Reply

