Austin: Hey Cupcake!

Hey Cupcake! mini-cupcakes

See Hey Cupcake! Website for multiple locations and hours for each location.

(Updated from my previous blog)

Hey Cupcake! has become an Austin icon, but it took me a few years of driving past it before Ben and I finally got around to visiting one of its multiple locations. I have wanted to go to Hey Cupcake! since I first saw that adorable darn cupcake beacon atop a shiny vintage RV.

036At Hey Cupcake!, I had the “special.”  Yes, cupcake trailers have specials.

That day it was a cherry sublime cupcake, but I think right now the special is a Lemon Buttercream, so I might have to return soon.  The cherry sublime was sublime in all the ways a $3.00 cupcake should be: the icing was super rich and there was a lot of it, the cake was moist and super rich, and there was a wonderful little sour candy cherry placed perfectly in the middle of the really thick icing.  It was delicious and cute, too.

We also got an order of cupcake minis to go (above photo).  They are long past gone.

About benleeirene

My husband and I live in Texas. He managed a kitchen in one of our town's local restaurants for six years, but he has recently returned to school and is loving it. I teach at a nearby school. I am creating this blog for fun and as an attempt to encourage my husband and myself to continue doing things we love: cooking, taking photos, and writing. Well, he loves cooking and I love taking and photos and writing. I would love to hear what you think!
This entry was posted in Desserts, Travel and Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Austin: Hey Cupcake!

  1. I really want cupcakes now haha. We don’t really have a famous-y cupcake place here to my knowledge, but we do have Sublime Donuts, so maybe I’ll have to do that. I completely understand the complexities with relationships with food. I eat a pint of ice cream each night and meticulously save calories all day so I can feel guiltless haha. Great post! Thanks for sharing.

    • benleeirene says:

      Donuts are good, too. Yes, I save my calories on the weekends so that I can go out to eat in the evenings; it seems to work okay.

  2. Chelsea Danger says:

    I love how cupcakes can be little pieces of art that are also delicious too! I think half the fun is just looking at them!

  3. rachel says:

    Congratulations! I nominated you for Inspiring Blogger Award; to accept and participate, go here: http://forthewinrachel.wordpress.com/2012/10/11/inspiring-blogger-award-im-flattered/

  4. I love this! I constantly tell my husband to hide things from me so I don’t eat them all. He only remembers half the time so I figure if I eat it all, the blame is kind of his too. =)

  5. The cupcakes look gorgeous!

  6. That picture looks awesome 🙂 I hope to have a good Cupcake soon now. Best of luck with everything.

  7. Carine says:

    Oh I’ve spotted them too and I have been wanting to start every time I passed by their RV! Now I have one more reason 😉
    Thanks! They look good!
    And thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

